The Ultimate Search for Truth Ends Here

My big, bad Ultimate Search for Truth unofficially began sometime in 2003, when I started studying Buddhism. I adore Buddha, but unfortunately, I had to dismiss the religion because I just could not bring myself to accept the concept of reincarnation.

In October of 2005, my search officially began. I admit that I only took quick glances at a few choice religions, including Mormonism, Jehovah’s Witness, Catholocism. Being fair, I should have given them some more of my time, but I got stopped at “holy underwear” with the Mormons, “no holiday celebrations” with the Witnesses, and drinking Christ’s blood with the Catholics.

The majority of my focus this last year has been on Christianity. At one point I got completely twisted up in the circular reasoning and really confusing logic of Fundamentalists. I did eventually manage to claw my way to the surface for some air. I asked my Dad a lot of questions about Creation, the age of the Earth, The Flood, etc, and he pointed me towards a plethora of resources. It was a little more Science than I thought I could handle, but I think I did a sufficient job at grasping concepts. I got tripped up by Old Testament prophecies and a few other twists and turns. However, I have finally reached an end. Or at least, a pause. Obviously, I don’t know the truth. You don’t either. No one does. But I think I’ve found a good resting place. Without further ado, my conclusions:

1. A higher power exists. Of course I can’t prove it. I can’t even give you a rational explanation of why I believe. I just do. I have to believe that there is a Creator. Whether he has a plan, whether there’s an afterlife for us, I do not know. I just believe he’s there.

2. I believe that Jesus walked the Earth. Whether he was the Son of God…doubtful. However, the teachings of Jesus, the story, the miracles, the parables, can teach us important lessons about life. Everybody needs a little Jesus (minus the religion.) The one thing I really can’t handle about Christianity is “trusting in God” or that “he has a plan for my life.” I will trust myself. I have the power to control my own destiny. I have a plan for my life. I choose to make my own decisions to better myself and the world around me. Jesus can give me some good tips along the way, but ultimately, the power is in my hands.

3. I feel the same way about Buddha as I do about Jesus. However, I cannot believe in an afterlife. Sure, there may be one. Maybe I’ll be reincarnated. Maybe I’ll go to heaven. But to me, it doesn’t matter. I choose to believe that my short little lifetime is all that I have. Living an irresponsible, selfish, wasteful life will bring me a lifetime of unhappiness. I will reap what I sow, I will experience karma. But it will be here on Earth. Likewise, a life of gratitude, generosity and kindness will bring me peace, satisfaction, serenity, and happiness.

A few months ago I came upon a quote: “Religion is the human response to being alive and having to die.” How true it is.

We all need something to believe in.

“True religion is real living; living with all one’s soul, with all one’s goodness and righteousness.” –Albert Einstein

3 Responses to “The Ultimate Search for Truth Ends Here”


  1. 1 Nikolai October 4, 2006 at 11:29 am

    You ultimate search reminds me of the ultimate showdown of ultimate destiny:

    http://www.ultimateshowdown.org/

    Not wanting to trivialise your post at all btw, which is really cool!

    N

  2. 2 stoogy October 5, 2006 at 5:34 pm

    Sorry to also talk about the ultimate showdown of ultimate destiny but I love it! Thanks for the link Nick 🙂

  3. 3 Areto October 6, 2006 at 4:08 pm

    right on, mr einstein!:)

    journey of souls, by michael newton. i LOOVED this book.


Leave a Reply

