Pigpen’s Sleepwalking Adventure

Last night at about 10PM, I was sitting here writing and scheming, and I heard Pigpen start YELLING like a madman in the next room. I jumped up and ran into his bedroom, where he was sleeping (albeit fitfully). I put my hand to his chest and his heart was thumping like crazy and his hair was wet with sweat. I sat there for a few moments, waiting to see if he’d start thrashing about again, but he seemed to have lulled himself back into La La Land. I went back to my computer, when a few moments later I heard him scurry out of his bedroom and into the living room. I peeked around the corner, and saw him quickly pacing back and forth in the hallway, looking very distraught and confused. I said “Pigpen! What’s wrong?” and he just kept pacing, getting more and more frantic. I grabbed him by the shoulders and started him steering him back towards bed when he stopped, pulled down his pants, and proceeded to start peeing all over the hardwood floor. I started yelling and half dragging him into the bathroom, set him in front of the toilet while he whizzed just about everywhere except IN the toilet bowl. Then he pulled his pants back up, flushed the toilet, and got back into bed. This morning he has no recollection of it. Scary.

4 Responses to “Pigpen’s Sleepwalking Adventure”


  1. 1 Magdalena October 26, 2006 at 11:09 am

    Night terrors. They are different than sleepwalking or nightmares. It’s neurological. Monkey had them for the longest time, and there is a trick to it. If it continues to happen, put him to bed and wake him 1 hour later, fully. Offer water, have him pee, etc, then put him back to bed. A few weeks of that upsets the pattern of night terrors and helps them go away for good. Monkey’s were scary and terrible, and every night.

  2. 2 Jenn October 26, 2006 at 6:11 pm

    Rylee has pretty bad night terrors as well. She wakes up screaming and yelling, but she does not remember it. She must still be sleeping. It is really WEIRD.

  3. 3 Missy October 27, 2006 at 7:23 am

    One of my neighbors kids had night terrors for a long time. I’ve never heard of the waking them up thing Magdalena mentioned, but it makes sense.

  4. 4 Nikolai October 30, 2006 at 5:17 am

    yeah, believe you me, it happens. I had a chair in my room when I was a kid that I would keep my school uniform on. One day I woke up and found that I’d gotten up and pee’d all over it during the night. I was well annoyed.

    I’ve also woken up in the guest bedroom, and had no idea how I got there, stuff like that. Most kids get over sleep-walking though – my advice is if it becomes a problem, take away foods with additives and especially caffeinated soft drinks, and get into a stricter routine at night.

    N


Leave a Reply

