Bibleland Halloween

Do you want to hear the funniest thing ever? I had planned to tell this story on Halloween, but with Animal’s birthday and the trick or treating, it got lost by the wayside.

When I was young, I wasn’t allowed to celebrate Halloween (pagan holiday that it is.) Instead, our church would try to make up for it by throwing a big party, complete with apple bobbing. A few times, we were allowed to dress up like Biblical characters and everyone would guess who we were. I have pictures of me and my childhood friends dressed as shepherds with staffs and robes and painted on beards and whatever those head coverings are called. I am in the middle, with a bedsheet covering my head and wrapped around my body. A sign hangs from my neck. It reads “I am not drunk.” I was supposed to be Hannah.

A few years later, I was 7 or 8, and I begged my parents to take me trick or treating. We were too poor to buy a costume, and besides, what kind of store was selling Biblical dress up gear? My mother had an idea and my father relented. Finally, I would be allowed to tour the neighborhood for candy. I remember the first house, the first door, my small hand reaching towards the doorbell. I was dressed in a long nightgown. My mother had cut dozens of leaves from green construction paper and attached them all over my gown with her sewing pins. They were scratching me everywhere. I didn’t care. I couldn’t wait for the treat. An old couple opened their door. “TRICK OR TREAT!!!” I yelled wildly, with a wide toothless grin. The woman smiled and said “Oh look! It’s a little tree!” I looked back at her, confused. “No,” I said firmly. “I’m EVE.” She was taken aback for a moment. “Oh, I see…..” she mumbled, dropping the candy into my bag. I think my Dad handed her a tract. I had never been more embarassed in my life.

5 Responses to “Bibleland Halloween”


  1. 1 Areto November 8, 2006 at 9:22 am

    hahahahahahahahahahahah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. 2 Missy November 8, 2006 at 5:07 pm

    Tree? Eve? Ha! Great story. Lovin’ it. Lovin’ it.

  3. 3 Ja7 L7+ November 8, 2006 at 5:15 pm

    Coulda been Zacheus too, maybe?

  4. 4 Missy November 9, 2006 at 3:36 am

    I remember a song like that–

    “There was a man from Jericho called Zacheus,
    There was a man from Jericho called Zacheus,
    Oh Zacheus, he was small,
    And the tree, it was tall,
    But the Lord loved Zacheus
    better than them all.”

    Hahahaha!

  5. 5 Areto November 9, 2006 at 7:52 am

    oh man, you guys are scaring me


Leave a Reply

