Delta airlines kicks nursing mom off of plane

Ah fuck it. Louisa’s blog has finally convinced me to add my two cents on this.

If you’ve got two cents on the matter, click here.

Dearest Delta,

This letter is in response to your company’s decision to remove a woman from a flight at her refusal to accept a blanket to cover up her nursing child.

I feel that, as a nursing mother, it is my duty to help inform you of a few things:

1. No mother I know, even the most militant of breastfeeding advocates, has any desire to expose her lactating breasts in public.

2. Most breastfed babies I know, especially toddlers, will not tolerate having their heads covered while they are eating. Certainly not in the hot and stuffy cabin of an airplane. Would you?

3. Nursing during takeoff and landing is recommended to relieve pressure in the ears of babies. Certainly you wouldn’t want to put your smallest and most fragile customers in pain when the matter could easily be resolved.

4. We all know what it’s like to hear a screaming baby during an entire flight. I’m also quite confident that you would have no desire to be the direct cause of such an unpleasant flight experience for an entire plane full of customers. Especially when the aforementioned baby could be immediately silenced by breastfeeding.

I expect that you will do the right thing and make a public apology, as well as formulating a plan to ensure that this sort of action does not occur again. Until then, my family will not be flying the “friendly” skies.

Estella, mama to three
Washington state

4 Responses to “Delta airlines kicks nursing mom off of plane”


  1. 1 sunShine November 17, 2006 at 1:51 pm

    How f’ed up is that? What is the world coming to? I need to write them a letter too. What could have been so offensive about that? She was in the window seat with her husband on the aisle seat next to her. Just crazy!

  2. 2 Louisa November 17, 2006 at 5:17 pm

    SO you coming to the Nurse-In??
    We could have coffee afterwards? 🙂

  3. 4 I am a Milliner's Dream, a woman of many "hats"... November 18, 2006 at 6:22 pm

    I wrote my letter!

    Hh

    P.S. I’m linking to you, baby.


Leave a Reply

