The house

I suppose I’ll blog, although I don’t have much to say. I’m currently knee-deep in the process of trying to gain rentalship of a home. (Yes, I said rentalship.)

We’re looking at a 3 bedroom, 2 bath home on the south end of the island. Currently, we reside with my parents on the NORTH end of the island. North=conservative, republican, military. South=liberal, tree huggin’ hippies. I’ve learned more about homeschooling, unschooling, and living off the grid in the last few days that I’ve seen in my entire granola existence.

Anyway, the house is tiny. About 1100 square feet tiny. This is probably at least half the size of the house we have just come from. To make matters even more complicated, there is no garage and no storage area. B is worried about that. I just think it sounds like a fun little challenge. I’m sure I’ll change my mind on moving day. Additionally, there is no dishwasher or garbage disposal. Neither of us have ever lived without either. This should be interesting.

The good news it that the rent is incredibly cheap, the school system is fantastic, the neighborhood is lovely, and we would have the opportunity to become members at the community rec center with indoor swimming pool, as well as having beach rights. Ohhhh yeahhh.

The major hurdles have been jumped, including raising $1500 to hold the place. Now, we await the results of our credit application. For the most part, we have decent credit. But alas, we’re dealing with a nitpicky property management company, and that’s never fun.

Here’s a picture of the house, for your viewing pleasure. And…cross your fingers for us.

1 Response to “The house”


  1. 1 Jewel December 13, 2006 at 2:31 pm

    I think the house is cute. You will be able to make it cozy.


Leave a Reply

