Shift the focus

I really am too busy to blog. It’s been a week since we moved and I still feel like every time I take a step forward, I get pushed two steps back. I could sit here and bitch and complain about everything that has gone wrong and everything that is driving me to gradual madness. But instead, I choose to take a moment and reflect on the positive. And so, another list by Estella.

What I love about my new place:

1. We have a metal roof and when it rains, it sounds wonderful.

2. When I wake up in the morning, all I can see out my window is green Pacific Northwestern trees.

3. At night, it’s darker than I ever thought a house could be. No streetlamps, nothing. Pitch black.

4. It’s also dead quiet. The neighbors say that sometimes you can hear the sound of trains on the mainland or the toot toot of the ferry in the distance.

5. In one single day, I saw a feminist bumper sticker, one that said “Kill Your Television”, one that said “Peace is Patriotic” and a Waldorf sticker.

6. The schoolbus stops right in front of our house.

7. Our neighbors are friendly, have introduced themselves, and one even drove all the way into town to get a spare key for me when I locked myself out of the house.

9. The neighborhood is full of kids.

10. During Halloween, the neighborhood blocked off the street and had a party with games, prizes and candy.

11. I am an hour away from my parents, which is just far enough.

12. I live insanely close to the ocean.

13. My parents have taken truckloads of stuff to my house, to the dump, and to Goodwill. They have also made room for our broken couch, our piano, and a ton of B’s power tools to be stored for free.

14. My internet and phone provider is local. Support your local businesses-YEAH!

15. Everywhere I go, strangers are friendly.

Ah. I’m feeling better already.

3 Responses to “Shift the focus”


  1. 1 Libby January 7, 2007 at 10:49 pm

    Sounds like everything is going to be fine. Glad to know this. It’s overwhelming but manageable. Your kids are going to thrive there! Good move!

    We also live in the woods where it’s quiet and dark and lovely. Wait till Spring! It’s a completely different but just as wonderful place.

  2. 2 shan January 7, 2007 at 11:41 pm

    sounds awesome; i’m jealous…
    Darkness? Quiet? I bet you can’t see into 8 of your neighbors houses from within your own house either. Nice.

  3. 3 domestic_slackstress January 11, 2007 at 6:53 am

    So jealous of your metal roof. So jealous of your RAIN, for that matter. Here in So Cal, we don’t know what rain is. And if it should happen to freeze over in hell and rain should fall, no one knows how to drive in it. Good for you for looking at the bright side. Life would be a lot smoother if I’d only remember to see the glass half full of whiskey. Just kidding. Thanks for the blog roll link. I appreciate it. Have fun adjusting to your new digs. I’m sure you’ll be settled soon enough. I love the PacWest. Good people.


Leave a Reply

