A quote

I ran across this quote today and it hit home so hard that it brought tears to my eyes.

“When we adults think of children there is a simple truth that we ignore: childhood is not preparation for life; childhood is life. A child isn’t getting ready to live; a child is living. No child will miss the zest and joy of living unless these are denied by adults who have convinced themselves that childhood is a period of preparation. How much heartache we would save ourselves if we would recognize children as partners with adults in the process of living, rather than always viewing them as apprentices. How much we could teach each other; we have the experience and they have the freshness. How full both our lives could be.”

John A. Taylor
Notes on an Unhurried Journey

9 Responses to “A quote”


  1. 1 Veronica January 26, 2007 at 7:26 pm

    I’m delurking to tell you that I love your blog. It’s so nice to find out that I’m not the only one who finds CIO horrific, and reading your entry about being pro-choice was so wonderful. Keep up the awesome work.

  2. 2 Estella January 26, 2007 at 8:22 pm

    Awwww, thanks Veronica! That definitely keeps me going. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. 3 Veronica January 27, 2007 at 1:29 am

    BTW, and I realized this AFTER leaving my comment…I’m a doula, too! (DONA)

  4. 4 antropologa January 27, 2007 at 9:26 pm

    How lovely.

    I try to be always cognizant of my baby’s quality of life now–not just trying to arrange her babyhood as a good foundation for later. I think it’s really helpful that I remember a lot of my emotional states from childhood. How she feels physically is important to me, too. Trying to stay in her head that way really helps me be empathetic which keeps me patient which can be so hard. This excerpt is in line with that thinking so I really like it. Thanks!

  5. 5 Lance January 27, 2007 at 11:42 pm

    How weird! Just last night me and a friend were discussing childhood and how our culture chooses to raise children in a very sugar coated way. I gotta say that I’m not so sure what the right answer is. You never want to rob a kid of their childhood, but at the same time are you really doing them any favors by creating a total illusion of what life is that one day will come crashing down on them when they step out into the real world? All I can do is look back on my own life and wonder what would of been better. I was raised in a very unusual environment and without telling you my whole life story, I’ll just put it like this. I was extremely sheltered and yet extremely exposed to some really traumatic shit. As much as I loved being a kid and having the once in a lifetime freedom of childhood, I still wonder if I would of been better off discovering the real world a bit earlier in life. To me the truth is far more valuable than happiness and comfort. I guess it all comes down to balance.

  6. 6 Estella January 28, 2007 at 12:13 am

    More quotes of this nature and resources on attachment parenting, gentle discipline and natural family living can be found at http://www.naturalchild.org.

  7. 8 ladyareto January 28, 2007 at 2:46 am

    The Taoists say that to be like a child is the Way…not knowing, innocent, and in perfect expression.

    “Being full of power is like being a baby. Scorpions don’t sting, tigers don’t attack, eagles don’t strike. Soft bones, weak muscles, but a firm grasp….All day long screaming and crying, but never getting hoarse. To know harmony is to know what’s eternal. To know what’s eternal is enlightenment…The full-grown is on the edge of age. Not the Way. What’s not the Way soon dies.” Ch 55 Tao Te Ching

    I loved the quote!

  8. 9 Estella January 28, 2007 at 5:31 am

    Along the same lines,

    “Children are natural Zen masters; their world is brand new in each and every moment.”

    John Bradshaw


Leave a Reply

