My doggy

Here are some new pics of my doggy. I discovered that she’s EXTREMELY camera shy, so taking these pictures took a long long time and every time the camera flashed and she winced, I felt like maybe she thought it was stealing her soul or something. You people better be grateful.

So I have officially become one of those Dog People who eat, sleep and breathe Dog. I am going to forgive all you veteran Dog People now for constantly talking about your dog, telling me that your dog is your baby and then trying to convince me that taking care of your dog is like taking care of a child. I’m also going to forgive you for the fucking dog hair that is all over your couch and on your clothes, and for your dog’s stinky breath and for dog poop in your yard. Someday I might even forgive you for letting your dog sleep in your bed….BLECH!

I get it now. And just so you know, I have a toddler and he is only slightly harder to take care of than an adult dog. It’s all coming into focus now, the way I want to smell Kai’s stinky breath every morning and the way I cheer for her perfectly positioned poop in the side yard.

Today I took her to the groomer’s, and newbie that I am, didn’t realize that you actually have to drop the dog off and LEAVE and come back later. I was nearly in tears and had to tell her about six times that I was going to come back, that I wasn’t going to leave her there. I felt insanely guilty.

I also took her for a walk this morning and she pooped in someone’s yard and I felt really irresponsible and ashamed about not having realized that I should have brought some plastic bags. I looked around sheepishly and kept on walking. I hope no one saw. Lesson learned.

I’ve also learned something about myself. I always thought that I didn’t like dogs. But the truth is, I just don’t like OTHER people’s dogs. Now puppies, I like. Most puppies. Just like babies. I like most babies. But I don’t like other people’s kids, and I don’t like their dogs either.

My dog though…now that’s a different story. Don’t mess with my doggy. I loves her.

5 Responses to “My doggy”


  1. 1 O February 1, 2007 at 1:03 pm

    welcome to the dog lovers club… even if it’s just your dog you love. (FYI – dog is god spelled backwards)

  2. 2 jewel February 1, 2007 at 6:20 pm

    Your doggy is so cute. Now how hard will it be to leave her to come see me in like a week and a half? lol

  3. 3 antropologa February 1, 2007 at 7:37 pm

    Aw, what a sweet girl. She’s going to be so much fun for your boys. Where does she sleep? One of ours sleeps on the couch (slipcover at ALL TIMES) and the other on the nicest Chinese rug on the house. Well, it WAS the nicest.

    Eva

  4. 4 Estella February 1, 2007 at 7:46 pm

    She sleeps wherever I put her blanket. During the daytime it’s in one of three places, depending on where I’m working. (Kitchen, computer, living room.) At night we move her blanket to the floor of our bedroom.

  5. 5 Libby February 2, 2007 at 2:04 am

    Very sweet looking dog! You’re going to have a blast watching your boys grow up with her. Congrats!


Leave a Reply

