5 days

I’m not sure how this happened, but instead of my Florida vacation being 6 months away, It’s 5 DAYS away. 5 days until I fly up into the great blue yonder and leave my baby for longer than just a few hours. It’s been 15 months since his birth. It’s flown by so fast, but there have been too many days where it has seemed to drag on forever. Days (and especially nights) where all I could do was sit and rock him while he teethed and screamed and I kept repeating my mantra. “Florida. Florida. Florida.”

I am excited. In fact, excited doesn’t even begin to cover it. I have indescribable feelings about having 8 days to myself to enjoy my best friend and sunshine. I have 8 days to sleep in, to move slowly, to read and reflect and think. To recharge. I can’t think of anything more wonderful than this.

And yet, with motherhood there always has to be the dark, flip side. Today, at 5 days out, I am literally choking back tears at the thought of leaving his graham-cracker-smelling hands for 8 long, miserable, lonely days. I’m feeling panicky and anxious and having second thoughts. I have to push through this. I know that he will be okay. I will be okay. This is what I need to do. I need the time. I need this recharging period. I can do this.

4 Responses to “5 days”


  1. 1 jewel February 5, 2007 at 6:21 pm

    YOU CAN DO THIS. I know you can. I have some sort of faith(not the religous kind) in you. I cant wait.

  2. 2 N February 6, 2007 at 2:36 pm

    You can do it honey, and so can he! You NEED a vacation, you NEED to see your bestest friend and have time just for YOU, without the pressures of home!

  3. 3 jewel February 6, 2007 at 3:59 pm

    Plus you will be leaving you pressures for a week and my pressures will replace your presseres so you dont have to go without any pressures because i dont want you to go through withdrawls. hehehe

  4. 4 antropologa February 6, 2007 at 4:54 pm

    The change of pace, scenery, company, weather will do you good. The southeast is much nicer than the northwest this time of year! Have a great trip.


Leave a Reply

