Orlando, FL: Day 1

So a 6 hour plane ride (4 of those hours spent next to a man who definitely should have booked himself TWO seats) and I’m in Florida. We got to Jewel’s house and her hubby had made us a fancy steak and potato dinner. This morning he brought us breakfast in bed too. Awww.

We got ready and took the kids out for a drive. We went to this place where you can usually see a whole shitload of manatees and gators, but of course, there were none in sight. Jewel took me to this crazy strip mall where you can buy knockoff designer items. She bought me a badass Prada bag for my birthday and I picked up some Chanel sunglasses for $3.99.


(The two greatest girls ever–Skater Chick & Lil’ Boo)

Oh and P.S. We got our noses pierced. I don’t know what posesses me sometimes.

5 Responses to “Orlando, FL: Day 1”


  1. 1 amygeekgrl February 12, 2007 at 1:44 am

    sounds like a great time. ๐Ÿ™‚
    how did you do w/ leaving the little man? did you end up taking him to the airport for one last nursing session before you boarded the plane?

    the nose-piercing looks really good on you. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. 2 shan February 12, 2007 at 7:49 am

    awesome!

    so, how does one choose which nostril to pierce? It looks good on the both of yous.

  3. 3 mrshavisham February 12, 2007 at 2:19 pm

    I ended up trying to nurse Animal in the car before I went in to the airport, and he totally wasn’t interested. He was a little busy trying to figure out where we were and what we were doing! I totally expected to have a nervous breakdown and cry, but I didn’t do either. I was totally fine! There were a few moments during the trip where I would see a child around his age, or hear them cry, and feel a little knot in my throat. But he is doing well at home with Daddy and I am having the time of my LIFE!!!

    Shan-
    The piercer said that he usually recommends that you pierce the side that you part your hair on. Since I usually part mine down the middle, I could pick. So I picked the right. And so did Jewel. I got mine pierced first, and then she went after me. When they pierced hers, there was this huge POP and she had a major nosebleed. The piercer was like “Oh SHIT.” It pretty much scared the living daylights out of both of us. Glad she went second or I would have never had the balls to follow her act…

    The nose piercing has been a long time coming. I’ve always hated my nose and been made fun of for its size. I always expected that someday I would get a nose job. Instead, I’m going to celebrate it. The piercing is kind of that last step to show the world that I am going to love myself, just as I am. Big nose and all.

  4. 4 O February 12, 2007 at 6:26 pm

    So cool, I’ve always loved your nose! Do you feel like you wanna pick it like it’s a booger??? or if you sneeze will it shoot out??? it looks very cool on both of you!!!!

    Hey next time you plan a long vacation you two (plus kids) should come up here to DC – Stay with us, I’ll show you all the cool sights here at the nations capitol… or we could go protest or something cool like that. – i heart vacation – O

  5. 5 antropologa February 12, 2007 at 9:20 pm

    When my nose was pierced I had it on the right side, too! Have fun discovering how to clean your nose out now.

    Hey I got overexcited and couldn’t wait for you to come back to consult on cloth diapers so I went ahead and ordered 7 pocket diapers, 4 different brands, to check it out. Will keep you posted.


Leave a Reply

