I’m a diva and you should be too!

So I have finally received the famous Diva Cup in the mail, and my cycle has arrived. I actually anticipated the day the Aunt Flo would visit. I couldn’t wait to try the sucker out.

It took (and still takes) several tries before I have inserted it correctly. I have heard that it only takes a few cycles before you’re a pro at insertion. It’s a little messy during the learning phase, but after you’ve had experience, I hear it’s no different than an applicator-less tampon.

Once it has been inserted correctly, you feel absolutely nothing. No re-insertions for TWELVE WHOLE HOURS. And the best part (the part which I had imagined would be absolutely disgusting) is taking it out and seeing how much blood you’ve collected. There are little ounce markings on the cup, so you can measure exactly how much blood you’re losing during each cycle. It’s so much fun. I’ve never been so excited about my period.

I swear to you ladies, you must try out the Diva Cup. Here’s why:

1. Health. Tampons and pads have some disgusting chemical shit in them that is toxic to your body. They are just NOT GOOD FOR YOU!

2. The Diva Cup will shorten your period, and lighten your flow. The chemicals in paper pads and tampons screw everything up.

3. Savings. For $20 you can buy a Diva Cup that will last you several years. Forget late night trips to the grocery store to pay $12 for a box of tampons.

Trust me on this one. It’s worth a try.

10 Responses to “I’m a diva and you should be too!”


  1. 1 amygeekgrl February 25, 2007 at 5:09 pm

    i’ve heard great things about the diva and when i get my period back again (didn’t happen til 15 months postpartum w/ my daughter), i intend to buy one. πŸ™‚

  2. 2 Louisa February 25, 2007 at 11:07 pm

    Awesome.
    Be warned tho… It can be pretty striking being so aware of just how much blood you’re losing.
    It blew my mind till I adjusted.

  3. 3 Caitlin February 26, 2007 at 1:04 am

    you’re gross… just one more thing I shouldn’t know about my sister!

  4. 4 Estella February 26, 2007 at 3:21 am

    God I finally got you to comment by talking about my period blood.

    And I’m NOT gross! You just haven’t learned to love your womanhood yet! πŸ˜›

  5. 5 peggykerroll February 26, 2007 at 3:38 pm

    I love my diva cup. But on my heaviest day I have to empty it about every four hours. That’s only one day out of five.

    But COME ON, Estella! FUN?! FUN!? It is stomach curdling disgusting! Of course so is changing pads and tampons. To reduce those encounters to once every twelve hours is a blessing of an order barely concievable before the diva cup came along and rocked my world.

    Caitlin, your sister is gross, periods are gross, but the diva cup is not. πŸ™‚

  6. 6 antropologa February 26, 2007 at 7:10 pm

    I used to use the Instead cup, which is like the Diva cup but you use just one per period (or technically you’re supposed to use a new one every 24 hours or something; I don’t remember). I haven’t used one in forever–haven’t had a period in, like, YEARS, now, and none is on the horizon and they don’t seem to sell them anymore, anyway. Maybe if I ever have regular cycles again (I used it when I was on the pill) I’ll get a Diva cup.

    I also think it is super neato to see what you get in there. I mean, I wouldn’t show my husband or anything, but certainly it’s educational.

    Just DON’T FORGET IT’S IN THERE and leave it in for WEEKS like my cousin did and end up with a serious infection.

  7. 7 Kind of Crunchy Mama February 26, 2007 at 7:43 pm

    I’m so going to get one when my period comes back.

  8. 8 Estella February 26, 2007 at 9:00 pm

    They still sell the Instead cups but they’re a little different. They go wayyyyyyyy up there, suctioned right up against your cervix. The diva cup fits low in your vagina, lower than a tampon. And there is no way that you could forget it in there. I can feel the stem without having to do any “digging.”

    Oh and I totally MADE MY husband look at what I’d collected. He was not interested at all but I forced him, and he was totally regretful of giving in. He was pretty much disgusted.

  9. 9 antropologa February 27, 2007 at 2:46 am

    I guess you’re never having sex on your period again, huh?

  10. 10 thordora February 27, 2007 at 6:34 pm

    I give. I’m gonna have to try it out. I’m so lazy, and it sounds right up my alley.


Leave a Reply

