Round FOUR?

Well, it’s settled. March 19th I have an appointment to get the blasted IUD removed.

I’ve now tried nearly every type of birth control on the market and have yet to be satisfied. And trust me, I’m not going to start charting my cervical mucus and taking my temperature.

I have devised my own birth control plan, which looks like this:

Sex during period=OK
Sex the week after period=OK
Sex the week before period=OK

That just leaves the one week remaining where sex is taboo. Not that I’m having loads of sex. But without proper planning, it would be just my luck that I would actually have my once-a-month sex romp ON MY OVULATION WEEK.

So. How long do you think it will take before I end up with an accidental pregnancy? Taking bets.

6 Responses to “Round FOUR?”


  1. 1 Louisa February 28, 2007 at 6:54 pm

    Hate to be the killjoy who points this out… But your birth control plan is IDENTICAL to the plan I used to GET PREGNANT.

    My money is on 4 months and you’ll be knocked up.
    Have you considered a diaphragm or a cap? Hell, a sponge and some spermicide would be better than nothing.

    Condoms?

    Seriously girl, there are other non-hormonal options. 🙂

  2. 2 Louisa February 28, 2007 at 6:54 pm

    P.S.I bet if you asked your midwife she’d take it our for you. It’s actually something you can do yourself if you wanted to spare yourself the trouble of a visit to someone…

  3. 3 thordora February 28, 2007 at 11:01 pm

    I actually did that for awhile, and didn’t get preggers. Only when I stopped adhereing to that did I get pregnant.

    I got myself fixed, since BC choices do bad things to me. I LOVES not having to worry about it. But of course, i worry about being the 1% who CAN get accidentally knocked up.

    Sigh.

  4. 4 Kind of Crunchy Mama March 2, 2007 at 9:17 pm

    Aaah, but how do you judge what constitutes the week before. Unless your cycle is a standard 28 days, you’ve got a lot of wiggle room. Does not sound like a good plan to me.

  5. 5 antropologa March 4, 2007 at 3:40 am

    Good luck with that. Baby girl stuff is cute, though, think pink diapers, so maybe you would end up there, and that wouldn’t be so bad, right? Apparently not, or you would be avoiding it more diligently, no? Besides, how much sex do you have, anyway? Harder to get pregnant when you’re mostly celibate.

  6. 6 bine March 6, 2007 at 6:54 pm

    “What do you call people who use the Rhythm Method?—Parents.”
    My bet would be about a year or so.
    It can work quite well if you have a very regular cycle and your cycle is not varied be stress or illness as mine is. With me it actually varies between 25 and 35 days and a night can throw me off track completely, so i only rely on the first week after my period starts, it’s condoms after that …


Leave a Reply

