An update

Wow, I haven’t blogged for a few days. I think this may be the longest break I’ve taken in quite some time. It’s not that I don’t have anything going on. It’s that I don’t have anything interesting or focused to write about. And maybe I also don’t have the energy to come up with something witty or intelligent.

So you’re going to get another update.

I’ve just finished the first two days of the Labor Support course at Seattle Midwifery School. It was intense, exhausting, beautiful and fucking amazing. I had no idea how emotional a class could be. I’ve completely lost it several times so far, as have many other students. I’ve even seen two of the instructors cry during lectures. That being said, I am beginning to believe that doula work is not for me at this point in my life. I think I’ll have a better idea after attending my first two births in a few weeks. But for one, I am currently having a huge problem finding someone who is willing to give 24/7 on call babysitting between the hours of 4AM-5PM while B is working. And for 3 kids. Nobody wants me calling them up in the middle of the night to watch 3 kids for an indefinite amount of time. I’m hoping to God that a miracle will occur that will allow me to get through these first few births for certification purposes. But after that, I highly doubt that I will be able to continue with a regular schedule, with several clients due each month. Secondly, the pay is just not that great. Starting out I could probably charge about $350 a birth. But in comparison to the work that is being done, I imagine that I will come uncomfortably close to breaking even. Not that I want to do this for the money. That isn’t it at all. I would do it for free if I could. But I can’t. And after 2 prenatal visits, gas, childcare, paperwork, parking, possibly a birth that lasts days, a postpartum visit, etc…what kind of profit am I looking at? Which brings me to my third reason behind shying away from this: It is becoming increasingly clear that sometime during this year, I will again find myself in the realm of Single Motherhood. I don’t want to go into details and keep rehashing my shitty marital problems, but last night felt like the last straw. The Man (drunk and angry) got a little more physical than I am comfortable with. And all because I was dead tired and passed on a sex offer.

I just wrote a big ranting paragraph about my feelings on this and then deleted it because like I said, I don’t want to go into details today.

Let’s see, let’s see, what else. Oh! I do have two “odd jobs” lined up, which is very exciting. In a few hours I meet with an attorney who is looking for a dog-walker for his 2 year old lab. He’s looking for 2-3 days a week for an hour-long walk. $15 an hour and a portion of mileage paid for. Totally fun. Since I already walk Kai several times a day, I figure that since I’m out anyway, I might as well take on another dog. Especially for a possible $200 month in income. I’m also in contact with a woman who is looking for childcare for her 3 daughters while she is out of town for a week. $100 a day. I’d have to stay at their house with my kids during that week, which would be SIX kids all at once and just little old me. But again, $700. Worth it. I think.

That might be it for now. Happy Sunday, folks.

1 Response to “An update”


  1. 1 Louisa March 4, 2007 at 9:11 pm

    Yeah, SMS will do that to you ๐Ÿ™‚
    My tip is to find another mama in your community who whats to doula too, and offer to back up each other when you are at births. It can up your profit margins considerably.
    XX L


Leave a Reply

