I think it’s working…

Thank you everyone for all of your suggestions regarding my fatigue/depression. I am back to taking prenatals and DHA supplement, have increased my H2o intake, and have put a little more exercise into my life. I will definitely be looking into some iron and B12 supplementation in the near future.

While I am absolutely certain that depression is very real and intense, I do believe that it is insanely over-diagnosed. I often wonder how much of it could be dramatically improved by proper nutrition and substantial exercise.

I had severe problems with depression beginning around age 14. By 18, I was diagnosed with chronic depression and anxiety. I began taking Paxil and continued on and off for the next 5 or 6 years. At one point, I was told that I would most likely be taking medication for life. During my first pregnancy however, I was taken off of Paxil and found that (unlike my other attempts to quit), I felt perfectly fine. Now when I reflect back on that time period, I suspect that taking prenatal vitamins and becoming more conscious of my nutritional needs probably played a huge part in my mood. And what sort of diet was I sporting between the ages of 14-18? Um…french fries, pizza and top ramen. Fresh fruits and veggies were not in the equation whatsoever, much less a multivitamin.

Oh, and remember how I told you that I am dogwalking for an attorney? I finally MET the attorney and guess what? He is a “she.” We had previously communicated by email only, and come to find out “Ali” is female. (pronounced “Ally”.) Ha ha. Her dog is quite the handful, but walking her is good for me. It’s like being paid to exercise! Ali lives on a huge, huge hill, so the last half of the walk is spent trudging up this thing, baby in sling and puppy dragging me upwards by the leash. Yesterday it was beautiful out, and we walked along the beach. Animal and I looked at birds and crabs and airplanes and boats and breathed the sea air and enjoyed the rare sunshine. Today it’s back to gloomy rain again. Gotta love the Northwest.

2 Responses to “I think it’s working…”


  1. 1 ladyareto March 7, 2007 at 6:07 pm

    oh i totally agree with you! hugs!

  2. 2 Tiffany March 9, 2007 at 10:03 pm

    Keep us posted on how you are feeling. Now that spring is here and you are out walking the dog you should start to feel better. Good Luck!


Leave a Reply

